ahhh….simplicity.

well, this morning hosanna was sleeping, and my husband jer was working here at home, so i took joshijah out for a walk.  the weather was BEAUTIFUL….gentle breeze, shining sun, birds all chirpy and a-flutter.  we took time to talk (2 year old conversation) and look at flowers, naming the colours and picking dandelions.  it was then that i realized that i almost ….and i say almost…felt….guilty.  yep. guilty.

here i was on this blissful walk with my son, chatting and smiling, holding hands and discovering small things.  drinking my morning cup of coffee.  it doesn’t get any better than this.  but for a fleeting moment, the thought crossed my mind: i wonder if people look at me and think i am being lazy or “playing hookie”.  shouldn’t i be doing something productive?  laundry, dishes, meetings ?????

i want to be free from that feeling.  as slight as it may be.  sure, i think we need to work hard and be diligent in all we do, but if we are to really pass on an understanding of simplicity and peace in life to our kids, we need to be able to spend time with them at their pace.  they live unhurried and happy lives (if we allow them to).  the trend today is to get your kids involved in every program known to man, so that they can be well-rounded and knowledgeable, and of course, so they can make informed decisions about what they are going to do with the rest of their lives.   *pffft*.

sometimes it just makes me tired to watch it all spinning around me.  i long for simpler times.  i guess it’s up to us to guard our own lives.  boundaries are important.  we need not say ‘yes’ to everything that comes our way.  guilt is a big motivator.  i pray that God would reveal to me daily the motivations of my heart.  am i doing something just because i feel guilty or am comparing myself to the lady down the street who has 6 kids and can still manage to juggle a full-time job, a clean house, a big vegetable garden, and volunteering on several committees, teaching sunday school and baking cookies?
Lord, show me what I am capable of.  Teach me how make the most of my time.  Teach me simplicity and peace.  Help me to not only convey it to my family, but to the people around me.  Teach me when to say no, when to say yes.    

4 responses to “ahhh….simplicity.

  1. I found you through Jess (makingithome)…oh how I can so relate to this post!I have been on a similar journey myself the last six months or so. My whole life has changed (watch out what you ask God for, LOL! 😉 ). But you know what? I rest in Him each day, and the rest of it falls into it’s place. One thing my dear mentor taught me to do was to not only pull out the calendar when I was asked about something, but also to stop and pray over it. I can remember one time, there was an interest that had nothing scheduled, and would have been quite fun for the kids, but as I prayed about it, I got a very definitive no from God. Stymied, I said no. The day of the activity, my friend had a medical emergency, and I was able to take care of her children, and care for her family during that time. Had I said yes to the other activity, I wouldn’t have been available and nearly an hour away. I’ve rarely had so clear a reason to pray about activities before or since, but it proved to my heart that God was in control!

  2. Right on sister 🙂 It’s easy to get caught up in all the “doings” of the day and feel like we “should” or “could” be doing more. I think that while God wants us to utilize our gifts for His kingdom and also get the things done that we need to in order to bless our family, there is only “one thing that is needed” and that is to sit at His feet. It can mean different things for everyone, but for me, I like not being “busy”. Our life has changed so much since we moved West and one of the most noticiable things is how we have almost every evening FREE to do whatever we want. Go on a walk, go out for ice cream, go to the park, or just SIT. Without guilt. It’s a new feeling and we like it.

    And on the topic of saying yes…it once was hard for me to say no because I felt that if I had the talents to do something, then I should. But I’ve stopped thinking that I’m the only one who can do something (lead a committee, help with a group, etc). I guard my time like a watchdog!

  3. great advice you guys! its so good to know other people out there feel the same way. and yes, i agree about praying about everything. something i need to start doing more…asking God about what’s important,…’sometimes what’s “good” is the enemy of what’s “best”‘.
    *mel*

  4. My husband is a prime example of what having a simple childhood can do for a person. He was raised on a ranch and homeschooled by his mother. His mom made sure he had social interaction with other kids (church youth group, gymnastics or some other sport, meeting with other homeschoolers) but he only did these things for “seasons.” I, on the other hand, was constantly doing. Now, I get bored so easily while my husband is always content! I can see this same problem in a lot of children today. Because they have seen their parents lead such busy lives, it seems they cannot entertain themselves and must always be given or forced to do something. (I babysit 2 kids and this attitude drives me crazy!) My husband and I laugh at people who are constantly saying how “busy” they are. It almost seems as if they are bragging about how much they have to do! Meanwhile, he and I are enjoying quiet evenings spent with our son. I guess the other extreme would be to never do anything for anyone and become a lazy hermit. I know that there has to be a balance and there must be priorities which should be guided by the Scripture and prayer. Here’s to sweet simplicity in life!

Leave a Reply

