tell me I’m not the only one.

Someone please tell me I’m not the only one who has a hard time having a phone conversation without the kids going crazy!

Today I was talking to my sister on the phone, and I had given the kids a bowl of organic blue corn tortilla chips to share.  

Good idea mama!

For about 2 minutes.

It was then discovered by one of the two (I won’t mention any names, but lets just say he instigates a lot of these incidents these days….ahem) that much more fun than eating the chips is tossing them around the kitchen and then driving all the trucks, cars and babies (!) through the chips to spread them ALL…OVER….THE….PLACE.

I, of course, see this going on in front of my very eyes, but being in the throes of much needed adult-conversation, I ignore it.  Afterall, they’re having fun.  And I am having an adult conversation.  Did I mention how much I need adult conversati0n sometimes?  No harm done.

I step in, however…when the aforementioned young instigator breaks a bowl.

A plastic bowl.

Enough said.

7 responses to “tell me I’m not the only one.

  1. oh Melli belle…its true …kids do get into stuff when parents are on the phone. They just seem to know you can’t get to them. Well, Joshijah is all boy and is testing you these days. You will be so ready to go to Norway, you’ll be saying “see ya later” So enjoy your time there…it will be a short time and then back to being responsible parents again.
    How do you break a plastic bowl? lol… gotta love’em

  2. *giggle! Your kids are too funny!!! Wanna get together this week for coffee?!?!?

  3. I do the ignore thing all the time when I’m on the phone, somehow I always live to regret it. What a mess they can make!

  4. so true!
    the WORST messes…..*sigh* but sometimes, it’s just worth it. 🙂

    sherri…i would love to have coffee….i’ve been so busy these past two weeks, so sorry i haven’t called yet!

    what about monday? tuesday?

  5. I swear for a couple of years I thought the only time my son wanted to talk to me was if I had a phone against my ear! LOL

  6. Oh you guys all have some cutsy stories. I love hearing about all these little episodes.

    It makes me smile and miss you all – and your kiddies…

    I made two new friends in the building, while needing help with my broken wrist.
    God works mysteriously….

    🙂 keep smiling mamas ( all of the mamas) you guys are doing. (and doing still) a wonderful job!! 🙂

  7. Although I haven’t hit that stage yet my daughter enjoys screaming at me and my phone while I am trying to talk.. I completely agree with the needing an adult conversation! Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

