ready or not!

Jeremy’s best friend Max is getting married to Brigitte in Norway, and Jeremy is the best man, so…

In less than a month, Jeremy and I will be heading to Norway, alone.  With NO kids! 
While to some that sounds divine and delightful, to me…well, it does sound that way on occasion, but …I have to admit, I have been feeling some trepidation and anxiety.  First of all, I am not one who typically enJOYs flying.  neh.  uh.uh.  don’t like the whole idea. 
Second, we are going for 10 days.  1o DAYS!!!  on another continent.  without the kids.  what will I do?  They are going to be all grown up by the time we get back. 

Anyways… they will be in good hands and I am praying that I will be able to relax and enjoy myself enough to get a good look at those beautiful fjords and do some glacier hiking. 

I’ve been feeling a bit direction-less lately.  Feeling like I need to have something before me to which I am steadily moving torward.  I feel like I need some clarity, some direction, some prodding???  I think this trip to Norway will be a good chance to get some time to spend with myself, with my husband,  and with God.  Figuring stuff out.  I have been missing out on early morning quiet times with Jesus.  I find the kids have been getting up earlier and earlier, and I just never.seem.to.get.to.it.  I know this is why I feel directionless. 

Jer and I were talking about committing to pray and ask God (individually and together) to begin to speak to us about where we are, what we are doing and what we are supposed to be doing…etc.   We are not really the 5-year-plan kind of people (at all!), but i know that when I have nothing to move towards, I feel hopeless.  I have lost sight momentarily of what we are to do.  I guess most importantly, I desire to know what’s on God’s heart for us so that I can pray towards it and usher in God’s will for our lives.  I believe that as a wife and a mother….that is one of my main purposes.  To KNOW where God is leading us and to PRAY for His hand to move.  I think often it is assumed that if God wills something for us, it will happen, no matter what.  I don’t believe this is always the case.  He has decidedly partnered with us, giving us the authority to ask and receive, to have faith and see Him move in response to it.  It doesn’t always land in our laps.  That’s actually quite rare. 
Anyways…all this to say that I think some good fresh Norweign air and some quiet time with God and Jeremy will do wonders.  I pray that I can hear God speaking clearly. 

2 responses to “ready or not!

  1. Luckkkky….
    you get to go on a 2nd honeymoon! Just remember, God is in charge of your kids when they are with someone else, just like He is in charge of them whenever they are with you! (I really need to practice what I preach, I feel like a hypocrite). I am sure that cold fresh air will help clear your mind, having God’s beautiful creation surrounding me really helps me focus in on His voice. The good thing about living in CO is that I can go up to the mountains, where you can hear a pin drop, and just have quiet peace with His Presence. I don’t get to do it often, but sometimes Nathan and I will just sit there, not talking or doing anything. It’s so serene. Enjoy your trip! Know that someone out West is terribly envious right now ;p

  2. i’ve always wanted to go to colorado. it sounds so beautiful. 🙂

Leave a comment